On this page
GTA 6 launches on Thursday 19 November 2026 on PS5 (with a PS5 Pro Enhanced version) and Xbox Series X|S, at the same UK price on both: £69.99 for Standard and £89.99 for Ultimate. What Rockstar hasn't confirmed is how each console performs: resolution, frame-rate modes, and what the PS5 Pro and Series S get. Here's exactly what's known for each console as of 25 October 2026, and what isn't.
Live update: we'll update this page the moment Rockstar, Sony or Microsoft confirm PS5 Pro or Series S details. Last checked: 25 October 2026.
The quick answer
- Already own a PS5 or an Xbox Series X|S? Play it on that. GTA 6 runs on all of them.
- Buying a console for GTA 6? A standard PS5 or Xbox Series X is the safe choice for now. On current information, both are the same game.
- Thinking about a PS5 Pro? Wait until the Pro enhancements are confirmed. The label is confirmed, but the details aren't.
- Series S? It's supported, but it has the smallest drive and the least power. We'd wait for Series S details before buying one just for GTA 6.
Side by side
| PS5 | PS5 Pro | Xbox Series X | Xbox Series S | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GTA 6 available | Confirmed | Confirmed (PS5 Pro Enhanced) | Confirmed | Confirmed |
| Release date | 19 Nov 2026 | 19 Nov 2026 | 19 Nov 2026 | 19 Nov 2026 |
| UK price (Standard / Ultimate) | £69.99 / £89.99 | Same game as PS5 | £69.99 / £89.99 | Same game as Series X |
| Frame rate | 30fps (Rob Nelson) | Not yet confirmed | 30fps (Rob Nelson) | 30fps (Rob Nelson) |
| 60fps / performance mode | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| Resolution | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| Controller features | Haptics, adaptive triggers, speaker ( Confirmed) | Same as PS5 | Not specified | Not specified |
| 3D audio | Tempest 3D Audio ( Confirmed) | Same as PS5 | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| Remote Play | Confirmed (PS Store listing) | Confirmed | n/a | n/a |
| Boxed copy has a disc? | No, it's a download code | No | No | No |
The 30fps figure comes from Rockstar North's Rob Nelson, who said the game was running at 30fps on consoles during development and that a 60fps option was still to be decided, at launch or later. Nobody has published a final per-console spec sheet.
GTA 6 on PS5
What's confirmed by PlayStation and Rockstar:
- "Plays best on PlayStation 5": this is Rockstar's own tagline and reflects a marketing partnership with Sony. It isn't a claim that the PS5 version runs better
- DualSense haptic feedback that reacts to what you do and to the environment
- Adaptive triggers with dynamic resistance
- Controller speaker sound effects
- Tempest 3D Audio positional sound
- Fast loading from the PS5's SSD
- Remote Play support, offline play enabled and 1 player (PS Store listing)
- Not on PS4: PlayStation confirms it's PS5 only
Rockstar says Trailer 2, the Extended Look and the Launch Trailer were all captured on PS5. Digital Foundry estimated that Rockstar's August footage ran at native 1440p and around 30fps on a base PS5. That's an analysis of a trailer, not an official spec.
Limited-edition GTA VI controllers: Sony has two DualSense GTA VI Limited Edition controllers, Black and White, at £74.99 each, available from 19 November. In the UK the Black one is a PlayStation Direct exclusive. The White one is also sold through retailers. Stock has been tight.
Disc or Digital Edition? It makes no difference for GTA 6. Boxed copies contain a download code, not a disc, so the PS5 Digital Edition (£519.99) can play a boxed copy just as well as the disc model (£569.99).
GTA 6 on PS5 Pro
| Status | |
|---|---|
| PS5 Pro Enhanced version | Confirmed (PlayStation's game page and store) |
| What the enhancements are (resolution, frame rate, ray tracing) | Not yet confirmed |
| 60fps or 40fps mode on Pro | Not yet confirmed |
| Launch trailer captured on a Pro? | Not yet confirmed. Rockstar only said PS5 |
What "PS5 Pro Enhanced" means: it's Sony's label for games improved for the Pro in some way. Sony says the improvements vary from game to game. It doesn't guarantee 60fps. You'll see claims online about a 40fps Pro mode. Rumour No official source has confirmed one.
Should you buy a PS5 Pro for GTA 6? Not yet. Wait until Rockstar or Sony say what the Pro version actually adds. We'll update this page as soon as they do.
GTA 6 on Xbox Series X|S
What's confirmed by Xbox and Rockstar:
- Xbox Series X and Series S are both supported. Microsoft's store lists it as Optimised for Xbox Series X|S
- Not on Xbox One
- Same UK price as PS5: £69.99 Standard, £89.99 Ultimate
- Single player, the same as on PS5
- Pre-order bonus: a month of GTA+ and the Vintage Vice City Pack for purchases made by 23:59:59 on 19 November 2026. On Xbox, the GTA+ month must be redeemed within 180 days of pre-ordering. On PlayStation the deadline is 31 March 2027
- Codes aren't region-locked on Xbox, unlike PlayStation codes
What's not confirmed:
- Any performance difference between Series X and Series S: Not yet confirmed
- Series S resolution: Not yet confirmed
- Xbox Cloud Gaming on console or mobile: Not yet confirmed. Xbox's chief strategy officer Matthew Ball said on 7 October that it won't stream to PC and that Xbox doesn't have exclusive streaming rights
- Game Pass: not announced. Treat it as a full-price purchase
Series S owners: storage is the bigger worry. The 512GB Series S has the smallest drive of any console here, and the GTA 6 download size isn't confirmed yet. See our storage guide.
Same on every console
- Release: Thursday 19 November 2026, with preload from 12 November (preload guide)
- Editions: Standard and Ultimate (Ultimate is digital only). See Standard vs Ultimate
- Boxed copies: a download code, not a disc
- Age rating: the US ESRB rating is Mature 17+ (published on 1 October and shown on Xbox's US store). In the UK it's PEGI 18: Xbox's UK store now lists PEGI 18 with Drugs, Sex, Violence and In-Game Purchases (checked 25 October). PEGI briefly published a detailed description of the game's content on 2 October and then removed it, without saying why
- PC: Not yet confirmed. There's no PC version announced
Still to be confirmed
- PS5 Pro enhancements
- Any 60fps or performance mode, at launch or later
- Series S resolution and performance
- Whether Xbox Cloud Gaming will stream it on console or mobile
- Download size (storage guide)
Frequently asked questions
Is GTA 6 better on PS5 or Xbox?
Rockstar says GTA 6 'plays best on PlayStation 5', which is a marketing tie-in, not a performance claim. Neither Rockstar nor Microsoft has published a side-by-side comparison, so any performance differences between PS5 and Xbox Series X are not yet confirmed.
Is GTA 6 better on PS5 Pro?
There is a PS5 Pro Enhanced version, but what it adds (resolution, frame rate or ray tracing) is not yet confirmed.
Does GTA 6 run at 60fps on any console?
Not confirmed. Rockstar North's Rob Nelson has said the game runs at 30fps on consoles, and that whether a 60fps option comes at launch or later is still to be decided.
Is GTA 6 on Xbox Series S?
Yes. It's on Xbox Series X|S, which includes Series S. Series S resolution and performance details are not yet confirmed.
Is GTA 6 on PS4 or Xbox One?
No. It's only on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
Is GTA 6 on Game Pass?
No. It hasn't been announced for Game Pass. It's a full-price purchase on both platforms.
Does GTA 6 cost the same on PS5 and Xbox?
Yes. In the UK it's £69.99 for Standard and £89.99 for Ultimate on both.
Can I play GTA 6 on PC through Xbox Cloud Gaming?
No. Xbox's Matthew Ball said on 7 October 2026 that GTA 6 won't stream to PC. Wider cloud streaming plans are not yet confirmed.
Email alerts
Get told the moment it's official
No spam and no daily digest. Just one email when something on your list is confirmed.
Sources
- PlayStation UK, GTA VI game page (features, PS5 Pro Enhanced, Remote Play, FAQ) https://www.playstation.com/en-gb/games/grand-theft-auto-vi/
- PlayStation Store UK, Standard Edition listing https://store.playstation.com/en-gb/product/EP1004-PPSA01547_00-GTAVISTANDARD001
- Xbox UK, GTA VI page https://www.xbox.com/en-GB/games/grand-theft-auto-vi
- Microsoft Store (US), GTA VI listing (Optimised for Series X|S, ESRB Mature 17+, GTA+ terms) https://www.xbox.com/en-us/games/store/grand-theft-auto-vi/9P3H4968GRSM/0017
- Rockstar Games, "Plays best on PlayStation 5" https://www.rockstargames.com/VI
- Rockstar Support, platforms, editions and versions https://support.rockstargames.com/articles/4QfG4FmZCf5W1gS8jy4UVT/grand-theft-auto-vi-platform-editions-and-versions
- PlayStation Blog, GTA VI Limited Edition DualSense controllers, 3 Sep 2026 https://blog.playstation.com/2026/09/03/first-look-at-the-grand-theft-auto-vi-limited-edition-dualsense-wireless-controllers/
- TechRadar, 30fps on consoles for now, Aug 2026 https://www.techradar.com/gaming/gta-6-will-launch-at-30fps-on-ps5-and-xbox-for-now-confirms-rockstar-but-while-60fps-is-reportedly-possible-its-a-40fps-mode-we-really-want-to-see
- Eurogamer, 30fps and Digital Foundry analysis https://www.eurogamer.net/gta-6-frame-rate-ps5-xbox-series-x-s
- GamesRadar+, no PC streaming via Xbox Cloud Gaming, 7 Oct 2026 https://www.gamesradar.com/games/grand-theft-auto/no-gta-6-wont-be-playable-on-pc-via-xbox-cloud-gaming-and-microsoft-doesnt-have-exclusive-streaming-rights-either-exec-clarifies/
- VGC, launch trailer captured on PS5 (base or Pro not specified), 15 Oct 2026 https://www.videogameschronicle.com/news/rockstar-has-revealed-the-official-launch-trailer-for-grand-theft-auto-6/
- VGC, PEGI 18 rating published then pulled, 3 Oct 2026 https://www.videogameschronicle.com/news/gta-6-rating-pulled-after-revealing-sex-scenes-and-drug-use/
- Xbox UK store, GTA VI listing (PEGI 18) https://www.xbox.com/en-gb/games/store/grand-theft-auto-vi/9nl3wwnzlzzn
- The Independent, UK pricing, 25 June 2026 https://www.independent.co.uk/bulletin/lifestyle/gta-6-price-pre-order-uk-ultimate-edition-b3002956.html
- ESRB, GTA VI rating (Mature 17+) https://www.esrb.org/ratings/41627/grand-theft-auto-vi/
Facts checked on 25 October 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.